The Democratic Alliance has announced the candidates in the running for premier slots in the nine provinces. In the Western Cape, the only province currently administered by the national official opposition, the party has put forward seven candidates, four of whom are relatively unknown

Bonginkosi Success Madikizela, the current provincial DA leader in the Western Cape, looks like a shoe-in as he is an incumbent MEC and was elected provincial leader in a tight contest last year. He narrowly beat Lennit Max - a provincial MPL - who has taken up a post as special adviser to national police minister Bheki Cele.

Madikizela is widely viewed as outgoing Premier Helen Zille's choice to replace her. He was brought into the party by her and has served as housing MEC.

Through a colleague, it was reported that Max expressed his disappointment that the party had not made use of his skills as a former Western Cape provincial police commissioner. He was also reported to be deeply disappointed that his skills had not been used in recent years as an MEC, as he had expected. Max served for a spell as Community Safety MEC in Zille’s government.

Max was first elected to the national Parliament in 2004 as an Independent Democrat MP. In September 2005, he crossed the floor - in the midst of a disciplinary process against him launched by then ID leader Patricia de Lille - and joined the Democratic Alliance.

Max challenged the outcome of the provincial leader's election vote last year. A political colleague reported at the weekend that when he asked for a recount, it emerged that the ballots had already been destroyed.

Initially a great ally of De Lille, Max became a staunch opponent of the embattled Mayor of Cape Town in recent years - although they ended up joining the same party. She followed him into the DA in 2010. Max has twice stood for the provincial leadership before he challenged Madikizela. In both contests he lost to De Lille.

With Max out of the way, Madikizela is now likely to emerge as the successful candidate - although he may be given a run for his money by Alan Winde, the current MEC for Economic Opportunities in the Western Cape government. Winde has served in Helen Zille's provincial cabinet since the party won provincial office in 2009.

The only other well-known name in the seven-person line-up is David Maynier, a national DA MP and the Shadow Minister of Finance. However, he has never been a member of the provincial legislature and has not served as an MEC.

The other candidates for the Western Cape premier are attorney Fazloodien Abrahams, motivational speaker Kelly Baloyi, law student Jacobus MacFarlane and Michael Mack.

The expected exit of Max from the legislature should prove to be a relief to the DA. He has had a tetchy relationship with the party’s leadership. In 2015 Zille wrote that Max had been outed as giving information to the ANC that she had spied on her colleagues. He denied this at the time.

Apart from the Western Cape, the DA has only Gauteng and the Northern Cape governments in its electoral sights. In Gauteng, Tshwane (Pretoria) mayor Solly Msimanga is likely to emerge as the premier candidate. He is up against Refiloe Ntsekhe, the party's national spokesperson. However, there are seven other candidates in the Gauteng field.

In the Northern Cape - also earmarked by the party as a winning target - the current provincial leader Andrew Louw has emerged as the only premier candidate.

Federal council chairperson James Selfe told the media the party had received 31 applications for premier candidates in the nine provinces. The nominees would appear before provincial selection panels and ultimately one premier candidate for the party would be selected in each of the provinces.

The DA's premier candidates are:

Western Cape

Fazloodien Abrahams

Bonginkosi Success Madikizela

David Maynier

Kelly Baloyi

Jacobus MacFarlane

Alan Winde

Micheal Mack


Stanford Makashule Gana

Wendy Alexander

Sandy Kgaogelo (Khathutshelo) Mbuvha

Rachel Katleo Mathebe

Ghaleb Cachalia

Johannes Page

Karabo Grace Tledima

Refiloe Ntsekhe

Solly Tshepiso Msimanga

North West

Sandy Kgaogelo (Khathutshelo) Mbuvha

Tutu Faleni

Thabo Selepe

Patrick Sesana

Karabo Grace Tledima


Zwakele Maxwell Mncwango

Zoe Moore

Northern Cape

Andrew Louw


Sandy Kgaogelo (Khathutshelo) Mbuvha

Tshedza Tshivhasa Sikhwari

Jacobus Frederik Smalle

Rembuluwani Thelma Marole

Free State

Coreen Malherbe

Semakaleng Patricia Kopane

Eastern Cape

Mzwenqaba Bhanga



Did you love this article?
Hate it?

We’d like to know.

Email The Messenger here

    Leave a comment

    You must Log in to post a comment